SANRU asbl Meeting report

(Second Meeting of the Provisional Board of Directors)

Date: October 13, 2011, Kinshasa Place: IMA, New Windsor, Maryland Participants: Leon Kintaudi, Félix Minuku Albert Kalonji, Larry Sthreshley Absent: Wayne Niles Observers, Frank Baer, Miatudila Malonga, Rick Santos, Sarla Chand, Dana McDonald, Esther, Doug Gousch

The meeting began with greetings provided by Rick Santos, President of IMA. Those comments which were reciprocated by Leon Kintaudi of behalf of the SANRU team from DR Congo.

Félix read the minutes from the previous meeting of the provisional board which was conducted on Aug. 26, 2011 in Kinshasa. The four members of the provisional board confirmed the correctness of the minutes.

During the discussion following the reading of the minutes two motions were made:

First, Larry noted that in his previous discussions with IMA that they had decided that he be the designated IMA representative on the SANRU board. However, Rick Santos would now like to see that position by Sarla Chand. Previously it was felt that the travel requirements would negate Sarla's participation in board meetings. However, in the interest of increasing IMA's support of the board, IMA would like to have Sarla Chand, IMA's current VP for International programs, serve as its designated representative. Larry proposed, therefore that:

Motion #1: That Sarla Chand replace Larry Sthreshley as IMA's designated representative on the on the SANRU Board of Directors.

This motion was seconded by Albert and accepted by all four members of the provisional board of directors.

Second, Leon noted that the bylaws of SANRU allow for a board of up to nine voting members, and that the current configuration only includes eight. He moved that

Motion #2: That the number of voting board members be increased to nine members (as permitted by the bylaws) and that Larry Sthreshley fill that ninth position as Member at Large.

This motion was seconded by Albert and accepted by all four members of the provisional board of directors.

Finally, it was suggested that the eight (out of fifteen) SANRU asbl founding members present at the current meeting affirm the above recommendations. The eight founding members present include Leon Kintaudi, Félix Minuku Albert Kalonji, Larry Sthreshley, Frank Baer, Miatudila Malonga, Rick Santos and Sarla Chand. This affirmation was done unanimously.

With those actions the SANRU provisional board of directors concluded its meeting and transferred responsibility to Miatudila Malongo as the President of SANRU asbl to chair subsequent meetings.

